re: soba, so good

cat cafes, fireflies and soba.

Meeting up with my friend Hazel (who chose to study abroad in Tokyo!), we visited her favourite cat café. Although there were many cute, exceedingly fluffy cats (and a kitten!), the space itself was pretty small and so visitors to the café were all politely vying for seating space and attention from the cats. The staff there were super considerate and if you did manage to get a seat, they would often relocate a sleepy cat onto your lap to love forever. With streaming eyes, my visit to the cat café was a short stay, since I was stupid and forgot to take my allergy medication with me.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
It’s like looking into a mirror.

I know I just wrote about having lunch a short while ago, but everyone else was hungry so we stopped by a 100-yen sushi place for second lunch. I love 100-yen sushi and I only wish I ate more of it during my trip! The quality is good, at least much better than the western equivalent Yo!Sushi (second on my list of hated Asian chain restaurants after Wagamama). Speaking of cheap deals, a trip to the 100-yen store resulted in me disregarding my already overweight hand luggage and going a little crazy on stationery – another thing that’s much better in Asia than the UK!

Later in the evening, we took a train to the outskirts of Tokyo for a local firefly festival. Huge crowds surrounded the small stream where the fireflies were released into and having never seen a firefly before it was pretty exciting to spot at least two dancing in the night. Sadly, the festival didn’t culminate in fireflies magically lighting up the vicinity like some whimsical Disney movie, but it was fun to experience the atmosphere of a local festival. Since it was very family oriented and held in a quiet neighbourhood, most stalls, including the delicious looking food vendors, were starting to close by 9.00pm, so we had to catch the train back into Tokyo for something to eat.

Luckily, Hazel knew of a cheap soba place open 24 hours so we all headed there and even though there was only 7 of us, we filled the whole restaurant. I’m not sure if my perceptions were skewed by hunger, but the soba was amazing! Costing only 530-yen for a bowl of soba, rice and some sliced pork belly (there are even cheaper options), this was the most inexpensive and satisfying meal I’ve had in Tokyo so far. Keep a look out for the small unassuming restaurants!

Apologies for the lack of photos in this post, I went on a massive purge through my photo library a couple of months ago and it seems nothing was deemed worthy enough to keep. Why do I do this to myself.

Author: rookieexperiences

A girl who loves cats, travel, food and cinema.

1 thought on “re: soba, so good”

  1. Hey, don’t purge the photos! Its all part of the memories!
    And fireflies, yes indeed we saw them in Spring time in Izu! Everyone’s in the summer yukata dress. So we can imagine the fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

